top of page

Announcing the Torch Literary Arts Nominations for the O. Henry Prize

"Widely regarded as the nation's most prestigious awards for short fiction." - The Atlantic

The O. Henry Prize is the oldest major prize for short fiction in America. Awarded since 1919, the prize seeks to provide a prominent platform for short story writers from all around the world and at all points in their careers. The winners’ stories are collected and published annually by Anchor Books. Learn more about the prize here.

We are thrilled to announce the following Torch nominees:

"The Cottage" by Gail Upchurch

"Things You Get at Starbucks" by Khadijah AbdulHaqq


Torch Literary Arts is a 501(c)3 nonprofit established to publish and promote creative writing by Black women. We publish contemporary writing by experienced and emerging writers alike. TORCH has featured work by Toi Derricotte, Tayari Jones, Sharon Bridgforth, Crystal Wilkinson, Patricia Smith, Natasha Trethewey, Elizabeth Alexander, and others. Programs include the Wildfire Reading Series, writing workshops, and retreats.

Help TORCH continue to publish and promote Black women writers by donating today.

bottom of page